A Beautiful Mind

The Reflections Of My Mind

Archive for September 22nd, 2009

Should we work for four days a week only?

with 4 comments

Long weekends are good.

My last weekend was a long weekend (19th Sep to 21st Sep) and I made a good progress on my applications. I managed to write the first drafts of three essays for Ross. And then I managed to write second drafts of these. Yes you read it correctly. Two drafts.

I started sequentially and put down everything that I wanted to. After working on Saturday and Sunday, my first draft was ready. On Monday I managed to cut down the fat from my essays an reduce the size. However, these are still beyond the accepted word limits and I will need another draft for fitting my story in the given limits.

Anyway, back to the point. I found this long weekend very productive as I managed to write my best essays till date. I had enough time to think about various things and type down everything. Some time back I read some rumors about debate going on in some developed nations about reducing the weekdays to 4. At first, it appeared to be a bad idea when you see the worst economic environment. I thought this will straight away reduce the output of any organization. However, after experiencing it personally, I now can clearly say that this actually improves the productivity. Yes you read it correctly. It improved my productivity.

At work last week, I knew that next Monday is a holiday and so made sure that I finish a part of my work for Monday. This enabled me to have a relaxed Tuesday (today). On top of it, when I sat to write my essays, I wrote them freely as I know I have enough time to revise everything.

Usually, after working for 9 to 10 hours a day and travelling for 4 to 5 hours a day (from my home to my workplace) I hardly have anytime to do anything else and weekends are the only days I get to write my essays… 😦

My intention is not to get into an argument on whether we should have 4 day weekdays or not but only to describe one good use of such long weekends. My next week is also another long weekend week .. Yipeeeeeeeeeeeee … 🙂

I guess I will have enough time to complete my essays for Ross completely.

 Long weekends are the best weekends 🙂

Written by abeautifulmind1

September 22, 2009 at 8:39 am