A Beautiful Mind

The Reflections Of My Mind

A weekend that was….

with 5 comments

FUN. My last weekend was an extended weekend (Friday to Sunday … :)) and as usual … I had plans to work on my essays and then visit a primary hindi school to continue working on my responsibility towards society. As it happens always, my plans didn’t materialize and had to be changed… albeit only half  🙂

My best friend came home during his break from his MBA at MICA. He was here for only a few days and so we decided to chill-out in our best way. Take another road trip. But since we had only two days to spare we took a road trip to Kashid (http://picasaweb.google.com/sunil.chanchlani/KashidOctober2009#) this time. Kashid is a small beach town almost half way between the popular tourist destinations Alibaug and Murud.

Thats me with the Murud fort in the back ground.

Thats me with the Murud fort in the back ground.

I called in two more friends of mine and so we were now four. We left on thursday night and reached Kashid in 4 hours flat after making a small dinner stop in between. I must say that it was another wonderful trip to this beach as the beach was clean with very few people, the water was clear and the best part was our trip was our time spent on the beach early Friday morning. There was so much of Fog that it was almost impossible to view anything beyond 5 meters. Yes the Fog was so dense. And we went in the water in this Fog, something that will shock my mom if I tell her :). We all had fun in this first-time-in-my-life experience and believe me you need to be there in such a foggy situation to experience it. But, do not try this if you are not a regular to beaches or are alone.

 

 

The small harbor

The small harbor

And later during the day, we went to Murud to discover a new spot. Yes it felt like we discoverd that new spot as none of the tourist guides had ever told us about it and no one except the four of us was present there. It was actually a small fishing harbor. It was so small and deserted (and peaceful) that it appeared to be a deserted one. But we were wrong. Some time later a few fishermen came in with their catch of the day. Although it was smelling very badly, it was amazing to see the live fish. I also tried my hands at pulling a small boat back into the harbor 🙂

Luckily we left early on Friday as later there were reports of a small storm along the Konkan coast line ( this includes Kashid) and of roads getting flooded due to this.

 

The next day (Saturday) I had to go to a primary hindi school in Kalyan (our neighbouring city) to spend some time with the kids and distribute some stationary as part of our drive at Umang Foundationto help deserving students. Some of my colleagues from my office came all the way from Mumbai (yes … my office is around 60Km away from my home) and the stationary was already there ( thanks to our plan that was executed efficiently) at the school when we reached at 10:00 am in the morning. We usually distribute stationary kits containing four to six notebooks, pencils, erasers, sharpeners and scales and we prepare these kits manually to save packaging costs. We prepared the kits in one of the store rooms at the school and I must mention how enthusiastic everyone was while preparing these. We were 12 members and we prepared the required 500+ kits in two hours flat 🙂

Later we had an amazing time while distributing the kits to these students and after this distribution was over, we all members had sessions with the kids in the class. We had sessions with kids from class 1 to class 7 and I was really impressed by the enthusiasm with which these kids were eager to study.

A Student at the school.

A Student at the school.

We had question and answer sessions with them and for each correct answer we were distributing pencils and notebooks. Man … the kids were so quick in answering the questions that I felt like everyone must be a topper in his/her own right. From answering 2+5+7 to naming all the months in a year and answering all the multiplication tables from 2 to 9 the kids in class 1 and 2 were awesome. I am saying this primarily because these kids are from a Hindi medium school. Answering my questions English shows their enthusiasm to learn this language.
 
May be it was the desire to study and excel or the upcoming exams before Diwali or the competition to win maximum number of pencils and notebooks that was driving the best out of them, all in all they were really good and we had a lot of fun while we spent our entire day with them. We have another visit planned next month after Diwali  at another school near Nerul and I we all (at Umang) are equally excited.
 
BTW … I still had the Sunday and I managed to make some progress on my essays. I didn’t write a new draft but I did indeed received some feedback from one of my reviewers and I made some changes to existing draft to apply the recommended changes.  The long weekend was indeed FUN.

Written by abeautifulmind1

October 12, 2009 at 9:58 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Visit A Beautiful Mind for more. var addthis_pub = ''; var addthis_language = 'en';var addthis_options = 'email, favorites, digg, delicious, buzz, mixx, reddit, bitly, facebook, twitter, google, more'; […]

  2. […] but also shared his class visit and interview at Tuck.  ABeautifulMind enjoyed a long weekend, and went on a road trip with a visiting friend, talked about his work with schoolchildren and even did a little work on his essays. XLick met up with a blog reader, and Stern first year, […]

    Fridays From The Frontline

    October 16, 2009 at 9:01 am

  3. […] but also shared his class visit and interview at Tuck.  ABeautifulMind enjoyed a long weekend, and went on a road trip with a visiting friend, talked about his work with schoolchildren and even did a little work on his essays. XLick met up with a blog reader, and Stern first year, […]

  4. […] but also shared his class visit and interview at Tuck.  ABeautifulMind enjoyed a long weekend, and went on a road trip with a visiting friend, talked about his work with schoolchildren and even did a little work on his essays. XLick met up with a blog reader, and Stern first year, […]

  5. […] Some Time to Relax […]


Leave a Reply

