A Beautiful Mind

The Reflections Of My Mind

My Last Week – Hectic, My Next Week – More Hectic

with 8 comments

The last few 8-10 days have been very much hectic. The work load has been tremendous and on top of it, I had to write my essays for Fuqua. The deadline (November 12) is coming. I just sent the details of my recommenders for Fuqua. Considering the time constraints, I feel like I am already a part of a b-school.

On the work side, I had a major production release last week. This was an important release as this project is an extremely important project in terms of the complexity, the size and the importance to the company. Our clients (the front office traders – yeah the real investment bankers) are happy and have started using the system. They have successfully executed trades and we are receiving good feedback. Yes, my baby is generating money 🙂 🙂

I also had some good experiences in this one and hopefully I should be able to put in a few points or examples in the next draft of my essays for Fuqua. However, I doubt I will have much time to work on my essays in this month. Primarily because the release last week marked the completion of the first phase of our project.

From next week the Phase 2 will start formally. And this week, apart from doing the usual post release work, we have informally started the Phase 2. This phase is going to be very very critical as we have a limited amount of time and lots of work. Sounds very much usual stuff???

Actually it is not. This time this project is critical because it is already running in production and our work is to upgrade it in stages. If it would have been a new project from scratch (like the previous phase was) it would have been easier. But now the complexity is up. When I joined Lehman Brothers (Yeah – I work for Lehman Bros in India which is now called NOMURA India), I was given some historical facts of the importance of our work. One such fact was about the Opportunity Loss of  USD 150m+ that Lehman had to incur, due to a system failure for about 1 hour during trading hours in NY. Just imagine the impact !!! And my current project is generating more revenue with every passing day. Even a single change in this project can have a huge impact. My team and I are both pretty much excited to work on this one but the only issues is the time. I may have to put my essays on the back-burner for some time 😦

However, I made some progress ont the essays on this weekend. I have almost completed my essays for Fuqua and the next draft will be the last one. I will finalize the Fuqua essays after that. Once that is done, I just intend to chase down my recommenders to make sure that they fill in the evaluation on time. I do not think they will delay it but I would love it if they finish it 2-3 days before the deadline. I still have 20-22 days for the final Fuqua deadline but I would prefer to complete my application by November 8.

Let us see how it goes. Pls wish me luck.

Written by abeautifulmind1

October 21, 2009 at 5:40 am

Posted in Uncategorized

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Visit A Beautiful Mind for more. var addthis_pub = ''; var addthis_language = 'en';var addthis_options = 'email, favorites, digg, delicious, buzz, mixx, reddit, bitly, facebook, twitter, google, more'; […]

  2. all the best buddy. Any news from ISB? I am Sid. Applied to ISB R1. No iv call yet 😦

    Sid

    October 22, 2009 at 2:26 pm

  3. No news yet man. No news. We are in the same boat.

    abeautifulmind1

    October 22, 2009 at 3:56 pm

  4. Great job with your blog! I am writing to you from Clear Admit, and we’d love your help on a project. If you are interested, please contact us at guides@clearadmit.com. Best of luck to you with the admissions process!

    Clear Admit

    October 22, 2009 at 5:25 pm

  5. […] job recruitment process. ABeautifulMind was in the midst of a hectic week of Fuqua essay prep and tracked the success of a recently completed work project. XLick considered what he would do if his b-school plans went awry, the Peace Corps or starting a […]

    Fridays From The Frontline

    October 23, 2009 at 10:02 am

  6. […] job recruitment process. ABeautifulMind was in the midst of a hectic week of Fuqua essay prep and tracked the success of a recently completed work project. XLick considered what he would do if his b-school plans went awry, the Peace Corps or starting a […]

  7. Nice one, dude !

    Good to know that you’re applying to Fuqua too. Good luck with the essays. But you’re far ahead of me in terms of essays 🙂

    Proc

    October 24, 2009 at 7:45 am

  8. […] Hectic Schedules […]


Leave a Reply

