A Beautiful Mind

The Reflections Of My Mind

How do I kill it?

leave a comment »

It has now been only two weeks that I was done with my R1 apps and deciding to take a break, I find myself getting anxious and worried about the results at times. I start thinking about the status of my apps and when will I get the interview call. I tried to kill this dull time of my life and overcome this wait period but I am running out of options. I tried to:

1) Indulge myself in work and lot of work. But it doesn’t work always. I can work for about 9 to 12 hours in a day. What about the rest of the time?

2) Do a lot of fun and volunteer stuff. Works at time  but can’t do it daily. For my volunteering activities, the people in my group are not as free as I am right now. It happens mainly on weekends. What about the weekdays then?

3) Read admission blogs, MBA applicant blogs and other such stuff. Sometime it helps to keep myself updated. But for how long?

4) Play Tennis. But where is my tennis partner these days? Oh, I forgot, he is on an all India trip. Wish I could do that too. I hope once I am done with this MBA application cycle, I can manage to get 4 weeks leave to do so.

5) Prepare for Interviews. So far the most useful activity. ClearAdmit, Accepted and Your MBA Game Plan have been very useful here.

6) Cook some food. Yes I can do that on weekends, when my Mom will allow me to mess up her kitchen 🙂 . BTW … George Bernard Shaw was 100% correct when he said: “There is no love sincerer than the love of food.

7) Press F5 every 15 mins on my mailbox and MBA forums. Nah, can’t do that anymore. My eyes start paining with that.

8) Study for MBA. Say What? Let me first get an admit.

9) Remember Homer when he said “To alcohol! The cause of, and solution to, all of lifes problems.

10) Buy new clothes and shoes for Interview. Yeh, Yeh. I will do that once I get an interview call.

11) Finally, I got it. It is Music.

Music washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life. – Berthold Auerbach

 

 And BTW … my Johnson (Cornell) app is now in “Complete” status and will be reviewed soon by the committe. I just now recieved an interview call from Olin. It is next Monday. And there has been no update or email on my app status from Fuqua (Duke). So for now option 5 and 11 are the two best options to spend my time with.

Written by abeautifulmind1

November 26, 2009 at 2:13 pm

Leave a Reply

