A Beautiful Mind

The Reflections Of My Mind

UNC Kenan-Flagler Interview

with 8 comments

Today I had my UNC Kenan-Flagler interview. It was with an alumnus at a coffee shop in Mumbai. The alumnus was cool, in a complete weekend mood,  and was wearing two-thirds. On the other hand, I was in a serious interview mood and wearing business professionals. He himself apologised for not informing me about the dress code in advance but appreciated the fact that I was keeping safe when it came to dress code. Anyways, he ordered coffee and stared directly with why Kenan-Flagler. I gave him my reasons and then he started talking about his similar experiences and why he chose Kenan-Flagler. There were no questions on Why MBA, Why Now or What have I done till date at my work place. The questions that followed were on my achievements outside of my work area, my other extracurricular activities, my interests, my personal background and other similar stuff. He also asked me about other schools in my list and we also talked about the current economic scenario in US. He passed out in 2001 and so he faced similar difficult situation due to the dot-com bubble in those years. We talked about some of his experiences at the school and while finding jobs and internships.

Finally, it came to questions from my side. I asked him 2 questions and got the answers. His coffee was over and we started talking a walk. He also recommended me a few things on the career/job search during difficult times and we finally concluded. All in all it was more of a conversation that I usually have with anyone I come across during the two hours of my travel from my home to office. Local trains (or tube trains) are good to meet different people with diverse backgrounds 🙂

I feel like I could have said a lot more than what I did but these things were not directly related to the discussion we were having. I guess either I need more practice on highlighting my self or this is indeed the way blind alumni interviews are conducted.

BTW …. there are some discussions going on few forums like BW about Kenan-Flagler inviting a lot of candidates for interview. Untill last year, Kenan-Flagler followed a different interview policy where the calls were divided into two seasons. An Open Season and a Closed Season. In the Open Season they interviewed anyone who submitted Part One of the application.  In mid-January they would move to Closed Season.  At that point they reserved the interviews for people they have screened and invited to interview.  But this year they have moved to ‘Invitation-only’ policy. So if you get an invite then that is a positive indication of the admissions committee’s preliminary assessment of your candidacy. Here are the details: http://blogs.kenan-flagler.unc.edu/mba/2009/08/18/and-the-admissions-season-starts/

Written by abeautifulmind1

December 12, 2009 at 4:00 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Was just a conversations and hardly anything like a formal interview. More can be found here: UNC Kenan-Flagler Interview A Beautiful Mind ………………………………………….. …………….. See me at: […]

  2. Good one mate. And are you sure you meant 1/3rds and not 2/3rds..because that would make for a super cool interviewer. My intv is coming up with Admissions director in Jan during MBA tour.

    Last Samurai

    December 12, 2009 at 5:40 pm

  3. Thanks for the correction man. He was cool but not ultra-cool 🙂

    abeautifulmind1

    December 12, 2009 at 5:48 pm

  4. Congratulations on your interview! We’d love for you to share your interview experience with other Kenan-Flagler applicants. Would you mind taking a moment to visit our Interview Feedback Database http://www.accepted.com/mba/interviews/interview_TEMP.asp?bhcp=1? (P.S. You could win an Amazon.com gift certificate by doing so.)

    Best of luck!

    Sarah Pritzker
    http://www.accepted.com

    Sarah Pritzker

    December 15, 2009 at 6:26 am

  5. Congrats!

    AJ

    December 19, 2009 at 6:16 pm

  6. Thanks AJ

    abeautifulmind1

    December 19, 2009 at 7:40 pm

  7. Hi abeautifulmind1,

    You’ve shared some great details about your UNC interview! Would you be willing to share these details and the questions you were asked in the Clear Admit Wiki for the benefit of other applicants? The Clear Admit Wiki features interview reports, accounts of school visits and other MBA applicant-generated content. You can do so by e-mailing the content directly to wiki@clearadmit.com.

    Thanks and best of luck in the MBA admissions process!

    -Melanie

    Melanie Preston
    Clear Admit LLC
    wiki@clearadmit.com
    http://www.clearadmit.com

    Melanie

    December 30, 2009 at 8:40 pm

  8. […] Interviews: Olin (WUSTL) Interview, Kenan-Flagler and Johnson (Cornell) […]


Leave a Reply

