A Beautiful Mind

The Reflections Of My Mind

Oh my Ross!!!

with 9 comments

Aahhhh. My Ross application has taken maximum time when compared to that for my other app that I have submitted till date. The Ross essay questions are good in terms of allowing me to express both, my professional achievements and my personal story. The questions are generic enough to give the write an opportunity to choose his or her own unique experience either from the professional background or from the personal background. At the same time, the questions are to the point in asking the writer to write about his or her leadership style, achievements and clarity of career goals.

For me the most interesting part of this has been the word limits. The four Ross essay questions (1 to 4) have strict word limits of 500, 500, 300 ad 300 respectively. I am currently editing my third draft of these essays and I am still not within the word limits of two of my essays. I hope with this draft will I will come within the limits and the final draft will be for proof reading by one of my angel reviewers. I am most likely not going to need the optional fifth essay as I had a very good undergraduate academic record and my GMAT score is also good and balanced. And the beauty of the Ross essays is that the third essay allows the writer to express his dream job, his own unique personal quality or interest. So I have only four essays but these four have been good enough to snatch away my holidays from me. Lets hope I will enjoy the moment I hit the submit button. My plan is to submit my Ross app by this weekend so as to avoid last-minute hassles and also track down my recommenders on the coming Monday. I don’t want to disturb them during their Christmas break but I wish they are done with their part of the job 🙂

Go Blue !!!!

Written by abeautifulmind1

December 29, 2009 at 6:46 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] from more round one schools and prepare for round two deadlines. A Beautiful Mind had his holidays snatched away from him by Ross essays and struggled with the school’s word limits. Xlick wished his readers a happy new year and […]

  2. Ahh, word counts. Yes, staying within the limits can be extremely challenging. Here are a few Accepted.com blog posts that address your situation. BTW, advice about tightening language and staying within word limits will apply all through your b-school/writing career.

    1. http://blog.accepted.com/acceptedcom_blog/2005/8/5/ugh-those-word-limits.html
    2. http://blog.accepted.com/acceptedcom_blog/2006/10/18/personal-statement-and-application-essay-tip-tightening-lang.html
    3. http://blog.accepted.com/acceptedcom_blog/2009/5/14/yikes-my-essay-is-too-long.html

    Best of luck!

    Sarah Pritzker
    http://www.accepted.com

    Sarah at Accepted

    January 5, 2010 at 9:39 am

    • Thnks a lot Sarah. The links given by you have good examples on reducing the word count.

      abeautifulmind1

      January 5, 2010 at 4:17 pm

  3. I hope you finished your essays and were able to submit your application before Tuesday. Best of luck!

    Matt
    http://twitter.com/thieleman1

    Matt

    January 6, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    • Hello Matt,

      Thanks for dropping by. Yes I did submit my Ross app for R2. Also read Jon Fuller’s tweet saying they have just started R2 essay reviews.

      The wait for an interview call begins now 🙂

      -Sunil

      abeautifulmind1

      January 7, 2010 at 6:19 am

  4. […] A Beautiful Mind, for bringing this up…Although these tips don’t come early enough to help you with […]

  5. […] A Beautiful Mind, for bringing this up…Although these tips don’t come early enough to help you with your Ross […]

  6. […] with Word Limits Thanks, A Beautiful Mind, for bringing this up…Although these tips don’t come early enough to help you with […]

  7. […] A Beautiful Mind, for bringing this up…Although these tips don’t come early enough to help you with […]


Leave a Reply

