A Beautiful Mind

The Reflections Of My Mind

Johnson (Cornell) Interview

with 4 comments

I am now done with Johnson (Cornell) interview. It was so far the longest interview session that I have had and it was really good in terms of the questions I faced. The interviewer already had a set of questions before hand but she hadn’t seen my file before. The questions were given to her by the first reviewer of my file. There were questions on my work, on my journey so far, on my career  goals and some questions on team work. 

The interview went fine but there was one thing that went really really bad. My phone call got disconnected four times during our 50 minute talk. I felt really embarrassed by this poor reception of the phone even when the phone was on full network. I have given telephonic interviews for jobs before and I hardly ever faced such a problem. But this time, the problem blew up like a volcano. At first everything was going fine. But after about first 25 mins, things just flew with the wind, completely out of my control.

The interviewer was very friendly and she kept her cool even with these disruptions. She was pretty much experienced with taking interviews and I guess these phone disruptions will not result in my disqualification. The interview was scheduled for 45 minutes but the interviewer gave me extra time due to these disruptions. I have written to the adcom to check if another round of interview is required (in case they were not able to get answers to all the questions they had). Let us see how this matter proceeds from here.

The results will be out on 16 February. The phone disruptions were very bad and I really hope these won’t be the last defining factor in the adcom’s decision on my application. Till then let us keep praying.

Written by abeautifulmind1

February 6, 2010 at 9:27 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Am sure technical glitches will not hamper your chances. Interviewers are not unaware such things. Sounds like the interview went on well.. All the best for the results.

    Mad Bubbles

    February 7, 2010 at 7:16 am

    • Thanks a lot for your wishes MB. How is your Haas app moving? Any news on that front?

      abeautifulmind1

      February 8, 2010 at 7:37 am

  2. agree with MadBubbles, don’t worry too much about the technical stuff, it’s not something you could control anyway 🙂
    best of luck with Johnson!

    DreamChaser

    February 8, 2010 at 6:52 pm

  3. […] More Interviews: Olin (WUSTL) Interview, Kenan-Flagler and Johnson (Cornell) Interview […]


Leave a Reply

