A Beautiful Mind

The Reflections Of My Mind

The unexpected.

with 14 comments

February 16 was the day Johnson (Cornell) GSM released its decisions for R2. That was the day I saw the unexpected. I got my first wait-list. This MBA journey has been an interesting one with almost everything coming into picture. I got dings, one admit and now one wait-list.

Johnson (Cornell) is definitely my top choice and I would just love to spend two years in Ithaca. This wait-list is another opportunity now to testify that I am really interested in joining Johnson. So it is time for a little more leg work towards converting this wait-list into an admit. I now need to get back to Johnson adcom and start identifying potential areas to improve my candidacy.

An important thing here will be the process followed at Johnson (Cornell) for the wait-listed candidates. Johnson follows a rolling process here and they can take anytime to take me off the wait-list. I am an international candidate and there are many things that I will need to cover up before moving to US. I should receive a decision on my Johnson application hopefully by May in order to complete my VISA application in a smooth manner. I understand that there is a lot of time for that but looking at the Johnson wait-list chat at Accepted.com for last year, it appears that it can take an unpredictable amount of time to come off from the wait-list. However, the Johnson AdCom is good at taking into consideration such situations. Moreover, the picture will be more clear after March 10, 2010 which is the deposit deadline for R2 admitted candidates.

My blog readers: Any advice is welcome.

Written by abeautifulmind1

February 17, 2010 at 10:17 am

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I got waitlisted too…I was thinking about taking a math course to improve my candidacy. UCLA has a good selection of online courses to choose from and 2 of them (Mathematics for Managers and Calculus for Business) seem to be the types of courses that we should be looking at taking. I was disappointed at first about not getting admitted right away, but now I see it as you do. A way for us to prove to Johnson how much we want to attend their B-School!

    Best of luck with your waitlist strategy!

    Steve

    February 17, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    • Hey Steve,

      Thanks for your comment and for the recommended courses from UCLA. However, are you sure that it is your quantitative ability that has kept you on waitlist? If yes then you can easily go for this course.

      I just want to first get a word from the adcom on what exactly they think I can improve upon. If its my quantitative ability then yes these courses will be useful. If its something else, then I guess we will have to figure out another alternative.

      -Sunil

      abeautifulmind1

      February 17, 2010 at 1:02 pm

  2. Sunil,

    I am guessing that it might not be quant, but ability to do the work successfully that might be holding me back (Low undergrad GPA). I am of course going to ask for feedback from Johnson about how best to strengthen my candidacy, but I was just doing some research in case.

    Steve

    Steve

    February 17, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    • Hello Steve,

      Yes you are correct. Low GPA can be one of the reasons. And UCLA is indeed having a good number of courses in different areas. I will also let you know about some other courses if and when I come across them. Let me know when you manage to get your feedback from the adcom.

      -Sunil

      abeautifulmind1

      February 17, 2010 at 5:56 pm

      • Sunil,

        Did you send an e-mail to admissions, or are you going to call the school to get your feedback? Do you know if it is something formal that we would need to schedule with the office, or more of a call up and have a chat? Just not sure how/when to take the next step.

        Steve

        Steve

        February 18, 2010 at 12:49 pm

      • Hi Steve,

        I have sent the fax (signed letter) to the school and now I am waiting for a mail from them as was stated in their decision. My plan is to write an email to them to ask for a feeback. Although, you can call them as well (I guess). May be you can write to them and ask for a time slot to discuss your app.

        -Sunil

        abeautifulmind1

        February 18, 2010 at 6:06 pm

  3. Sunil
    How about additional reco ? Or recent performance appraisals ?
    All the best.

    Raghav

    February 17, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    • Hi Raghav,

      Yes. Those things are in the list of things recommended by the school and are in my mind. I am just waiting for a feedback from the school which will give a kind of headstart to identify the most relevant/important thing to do.

      -Sunil

      abeautifulmind1

      February 18, 2010 at 3:14 am

  4. Hi Sunil

    I have also been wait listed and have faxed the letter to the adcom. Haven’t received an email from them. But I believe that the feedback mail they send is a general mail and does not offer specific feedback.
    Lots of confusion as to what to do. I am also an Indian applicant and would like to convert this to an admit asap.

    mbaDreamBig

    February 19, 2010 at 9:48 am

    • Hey mbaDreamBig,

      I have just sent them the fax and I am now waiting for their reply just like you. I guess we can give them a day or two more and then ask for the email (if we still don’t get it).

      abeautifulmind1

      February 19, 2010 at 10:34 am

  5. […] regard. A Beautiful Mind took a look at Clear Admit’s Consulting Career Guide, and received a wait-list notification from Cornell. Steve also received waitlist news from Cornell, and wasn’t looking forward to all the […]

  6. […] First Wait-list ( , no-no may be its time to ) […]

  7. Have you guys heard anything from the adcoms regarding the waitlist…I am a waitlisted candidate too and haven’t heard back anything from them….:(

    corwaitlist

    April 29, 2010 at 10:29 pm

    • Hi Cornwaitlist,

      I have also been waitlisted for the Johnson program and have scheduled a feedback session for 27th May. Have you had your feedback session? how thoughts on how to best approach it?

      richa

      May 25, 2010 at 8:08 pm


Leave a Reply

