A Beautiful Mind

The Reflections Of My Mind

Where the hell have you been?

with 5 comments

“Where the hell have you been?” is what some of my friends and blog visitors have been asking me very frequently now. For the record, I was just busy with winding up my job (yes I am a free bird now), cleaning up the mess in my room (took me 2 full days and still its only 2/3rd complete), getting my Student VISA and looking for some additional financial aid for studies abroad.

I received my Student VISA. The process was time-consuming in terms of filling up all the forms and arranging all the documents as expected. But once this was done, it was just a cakewalk. The entire VISA application process is actually very streamlined. The interview went quick and I just had to face 3-4 questions related to my program and my ability to fund my education. That is it.

Indian applications who have questions related to the VISA application can post a comment here and I will try my best to help everyone. However, before posting your queries please read the guidelines or the steps for applying for a VISA at http://vfs-usa.co.in. This site is specific to India. For the VISA application guidelines for other countries, please visit this site first: http://travel.state.gov/visa/visa_1750.html.

My room. Ahh. After two days of cleaning my room and removing the extra stuff that had gathered over time I realized that I had 30+ brochures from different business schools, some books that I had finished reading long back but didn’t return them to their rightful owners and many printed copies of my essays. The room is now in a much better shape and there seems to be a lot of space now 🙂

As far as additional financial aid is concerned, I was hunting down all the trusts and organizations that provide some sort of financial aid to Indian applicants who are going abroad for higher studies. This whole thing was more difficult than the actual MBA applications and it deserves a separate post. I will post the details of all the information that I now have after my month-long marathon of finding the correct financial aid donors and applying to each one of them.

Finally, it is tme for some shopping.

Written by abeautifulmind1

June 24, 2010 at 8:58 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Sunil,

    Good luck with the closing out and enjoying life stage! Its a pleasure, I can tell you 🙂

    I’v put up a couple of detailed posts explaining the step-by-step points to get a US F1 student visa (for Indian applicants). The posts can be found at Part 1 (http://babsonmba2012.com/2010/05/12/the-student-visa-process-in-summary-part-i/) and Part 2 (http://babsonmba2012.com/2010/05/17/the-student-visa-process-%e2%80%93-in-summary-part-ii/)

    RB

    Rocky Balboa

    June 26, 2010 at 7:45 am

    • Hey Naveen,

      Your posts are indeed helpful in explaining the VISA proess in detail. Thanks for posting the comment here. So when will you be flying?

      abeautifulmind1

      June 26, 2010 at 10:02 am

  2. Hey Sunil

    Btw, where are heading to – Olin WUSTL? Last I saw that you were waitlisted at Johnson. What happened?

    Proc

    June 28, 2010 at 8:59 am

    • Ya I am headed to Olin (WUSTL). The Johnson WL was later rejected. So its Oln for me. How are things at your end? Any news from Tepper?

      abeautifulmind1

      June 28, 2010 at 2:50 pm

  3. Sorry to hear abt your Johnson decision. As for me, no news from Tepper yet. That’s my last option but I’m not banking on it much

    Anyways, hope you have a great time at Olin !

    Proc

    June 28, 2010 at 8:00 pm


Leave a Reply

